Author Topic: I need a good Cover Story  (Read 3747 times)

Offline Antares

• Veteran
I need a good Cover Story
« on: Sunday, September 02, 2007, 01:10:25 PM »
It has recently come to my attention that publicly advertising what I do for a living isn't exactly a safe or smart thing to do.  Nor, is stating my profession to random people I happen to meet.  This is unfortunate, because I finally have a somewhat interesting job, but also gives me the opportunity to have a cool fake backstory to tell people when I meet them, particularly people in bars, clubs etc.  So far, I've just stuck with telling people that I am a student on vacation, but that won't fly for much longer since I won't always want to give the impression that I'm just visiting somewhere.

Key elements needed:

Story should be somewhat interesting, as well as believable.  However, shouldn't be too interestiing, as I'd rather just mention it and move on to something else in a conversation without sounding like an asshole.

Thoughts?  Ideas?

So far all I've really come up with is telling people that I work for the government and not being more specific, but I have a feeling people would pry for a little more information.

Offline idolminds

• ZOMG!
  • Administrator
  • Forum god
Re: I need a good Cover Story
« Reply #1 on: Sunday, September 02, 2007, 01:53:07 PM »
I work for the government, *and I can't be any more specific than that.*

Then flash a gun.

Offline Jedi

• Poster Child
« Reply #2 on: Sunday, September 02, 2007, 02:03:48 PM »
Haha... I used to work for the NZ Department of Internal Affairs, (DIA) it was a pretty boring job but people always assumed otherwise so I'd just shrug and say 'sorry can't really go into details other than to say it involves passports’. I would also drop hints into the conversation (if it continued) about a black/watch list, the new chip technology and ways of IDing fake passports (again all true).

Offline Antares

• Veteran