Author Topic: The Bridge of Sighs (The Sy Makes Nonsensical Topic Because He's Tired Thread)  (Read 1680 times)

Offline sirean_syan

• Global Moderator
  • Post-aholic
It's not a game, but a level in Homeworld.

I started playing the game again about a week ago and just made it to the level. It's a potentially extremely slow and tedious level and it's probably my favorite in the game because you have to do everything so deliberately. It's one of the last missions and it requires you to break through a giant sphere of about 100-150 Ion Canon Cruisers (capital ship destroyers) to get to a special installation in the middle. The way I like to approach the mission requires about five to six hours while I slowly twiddle down the sphere of ships, stealing as many as I can, and eventually overwhelming the center (as well as the rest of the game since your fleet is consistent throughout the game).

It really shows the game's strengths and weakness, depending on the player. It forces you to be patient, something most games aren't willing to do and I love it for that. I imagine lots of people who played Homeworld got to the Bridge of Sighs and either rushed through and were underpowered for the rest of the game or just quit outright. It's sort of the last great hurdle in finishing the game and, because of that, I think the name is appropriate (moreso now that I've looked it up.

So, I wanted to take a break and this post was the result. I was also curious: anyone else have a really memorable Bridge of Sighs in a game. I can't think of another great example right now, but I know I've been through a couple.
« Last Edit: Monday, July 16, 2007, 08:46:32 AM by sirean_syan »

Offline Quemaqua

• 古い塩
  • Administrator
  • Forum god
  • パンダは触るな。
    • Bookruptcy
Re: The Bridge of Sighs (The Sy Makes Nonsensical Topic Because He's Tired Thre
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday, July 17, 2007, 10:14:50 PM »